Couch Pumpkin: Sofa Adventures
News and reviews for the big and small screens…where potatoes fear to tread.

Heroine Addict

Okay, okay, it’s been a long time. Apologies.

Anyway, my mind has been on the subject of children’s tv lately, for a few reasons. So, in the first of a series on the topic, I wanted to point out a show which I suspect has had a massive impact on my tv (and even wider) taste.

The thing is, I’m a heroine junkie. Seriously. If your show features a sword, gun or magical dildo wielding heroine, I’m there. And it’s not just the overtly ‘strong’ women…lady struggling with social norms and finding her inner HBIC? Yes please. Rounded, complex, intelligent, HUMAN female characters – MY DRUG.

Some of my favourites include…

  • Kara ‘Starbuck’ Thrace, all time fave, ultimate badass etc. etc.
  • Arya and Sansa Stark, both brilliant in their own way, on the way to being rulers of Westeros (please!).
  • Cara Mason, would prob whip Kara in a fight tbh, eye roller extraordinaire.
  • Jen Yu, one of my all time fave movie heroines.  The Invincible Sword Proto-Feminist ❤ ❤
  • PEGGY M.F. OLSON. I really over- identify with Peggy, it’s worrying.

So, which CBBC show, consumed on a far-too regular basis via VHS library loan, may lie at the root of my heroine worship?

Sing it, sisters:

 

No Responses to “Heroine Addict”

Leave a Reply

