Couch Pumpkin: Sofa Adventures
News and reviews for the big and small screens…where potatoes fear to tread.

Auld Lang Pumpkin

What up, blog readers?! I hope you’re over your hangovers  because 2010 is well underway. Fangrrl magnet has a great post of mid season tv – looks like it’s going to be a bumper couple of months for us telly addicts.

I’m planning to watch: (click for trailers!)

Hustle series 6 -STARTS TONIGHT (BBC 1)! My friend Jimmy got me into Hustle, and although the team dynamic is a little different without Danny and Stacey, it’s still great fun to watch the cons play out. In tonight’s episode, Emma takes up a role she was surely born for: Kylie Minogue! By the way, Hustle > Leverage. We don’t need no explosions in our light hearted comedy drama, thanks very much.

Being Human series 2 (BBC 3, Jan 10th) – I am probably going to blog each episode as I did with series 1. Sooo excited! George, Mitchell and Annie are back and with their vampire problem solved it’s the humans they need to watch out for! Naturally, horror tinged hilarity will ensue.

Legend of the Seeker season 2 continuation (Jan 9th?) – my guilty pleasure. Join Richard, Kahlan, Cara and Zedd as they kick ass and take names up and down the magical Midlands. Oh, and continue their quest to save the living from the terrors of the Underworld (or ‘no undies world’, as it has become known among fans).

Mad Men season 3 (BBC 4, Jan 21st) – what more to say about Mad Men? I wrote this piece last year to herald the arrival of season 2 on UK shores, and it still holds true. Mad Men is a delight, that at points in season 2 left me breathless and slack jawed. Its final episode, ‘Meditations in an Emergency’, was a masterpiece. I’m so excited to see what the new season will bring! With (gasp!) Brits in the office and and a bun in Betty’s oven, Don Draper will surely face more obstacles than ever in his quest to be the slickest, smoothest ad man in Manhattan.

Spartacus: Blood and Sand season 1 (Jan 22nd) – gladiators, Romans, Lucy Lawless…I’ll be there in a toga chanting my fast fading Latin conjugations and declensions. Starz presents an action packed, sexed up version of the famous tale, complete with 300 style visuals.

The jury’s still out on Caprica, the BSG prequel series. Believe it or not, I’m still bitter about the finale, so I still haven’t watched the pilot episode (although many fans assure me it’s enjoyable). I just don’t know if I can care about a series that doesn’t have pilots. Speaking of, although I’ve never watched 24 I might be tempted to check out an episode or two for Katee Sackhoff.

No Responses to “Auld Lang Pumpkin”

Leave a Reply

