Couch Pumpkin: Sofa Adventures
News and reviews for the big and small screens…where potatoes fear to tread.

Goggle Box Bits n Bobs

My dashboard and post making page are still horribly borked (clearing cache/cookies is not working, any ideas?). Anyway, I wanted to mention a couple of things that are tv related:

– I’m hearing rumours that Virtuality is dead in the water. Sob! I hope we at least get to see the pilot someday.

– I’m yet to watch Caprica. In fact, I may never do so. I was going to write a long post about religion in BSG, but until I have time to do so,  this excellent article echoes my thoughts on the matter.

Ashes to Ashes is back on a Monday night – I still don’t enjoy it as much as Life on Mars, for various reasons, but I am somewhat invested in the characters (Chris and Gene, mostly) as a hangover from their predecessor, so I will keep watching. However, if the ending turns out to be what I fear it might be (although nothing could be worse than the ending of the US LoM) I’ll be very happy to remove A2A from my personal canon.

– I sort of fell in love with Legend of the Seeker after I last blogged about it, mainly due to the relationship between Richard and Kahlan. I hate to be, well, such a girl, but the chemistry is just off the charts and I do love a good bit of Unresolved Sexual Tension. The plots got a little more original as the series went on (although they have still managed to cover pretty much every sci-fi/fantasy trope ever) and things definitely took a darker turn, especially with the introduction of a team of leather clad dominatrices around episode 8!

Kings is gone until the summer, and presumably axed after that. Shame. It was a bit slow moving but I really enjoyed it every week.

– Not long until my favourite vampires (barring Mitchell, of course) are back on the screen in season 2 of True Blood! June 14th is when it all kicks off, and I look forward to seeing more sex, drugs and naked pig ladies! There’s a great preview clip at EW. Season 1 should be airing on FX in the UK at some point in the summer, and has also been picked up by Channel 4 for later transmission.

– And finally…Mad Men continues to be utterly sublime. WATCH IT. Current fans might enjoy Rich Sommer’s blog (he plays Harry), especially as s3 is going into production next week!

No Responses to “Goggle Box Bits n Bobs”

Leave a Reply

