Couch Pumpkin: Sofa Adventures
News and reviews for the big and small screens…where potatoes fear to tread.

Trailer Park

Don’t worry – my reviews of Being Human and Slumdog Millionaire are on their way in the next couple of days.

To tide you over, I decided to resurrect a feature from my days at Oxide – trailer reviews! In what I hope to make a regular spot on the blog, I’ll be watching a selection of trailers over at Quicktime and letting you know what I think. Ratings are: YAY (I’d watch it), NAY (not if you paid me) or MAYBE (eh…might take some persuasion).

In today’s review, trailers for My Life in Ruins, 17 Again, Push and Miss March:

My Life In Ruins – Nia Vardalos – The writer and star of ‘My Big Fat Greek Wedding’ returns with another Greek themed comedy. Georgia, a woman who is lacking her ‘kefi’ (or mojo), decides to take on the challenge of working as a tour guide in Greece. Along the way she finds out more about herself as well as deciding what’s really important.

Although some of the jokes look a little ropey, I will definitely be going to see this if only for the Greece nostalgia. MBFGW was a sweet film, and Vardalos is a charming actress. Plus the scenery looks gorgeous. YAY

17 Again Zac Efron, Matthew Perry, Michelle Trachtenberg – In a classic (or rather clichéd) Father Guilt tale of redemption, Matthew Perry plays a loserish middle aged man who is transformed into a 17 year old by some freaky magic. He returns to high school, getting the chance to be cool and down with the kids, as well as bonding with his family.

Yaaawn. I think I’ve seen this movie at least 3 times already. Even with Zefron’s puppyish cuteness: NAY

Push – Chris Evans, Dakota Fanning, Camilla Belle, Djimon Hounsou – a group of people with special powers (telekinesis, telepathy, foresight) decide to take down the shadowy organisation that’s trying to catch them. In other words, X-Men/Heroes.

The plot’s not that original, but I like the look of the cinematography – nice blue tones, quite sharp looking. Dakota Fanning does creepy child well, and you can always count on Djimon to deliver. I could be persuaded to see this. MAYBE

Miss March– Zach Cregger, Trevor Moore

A guy wakes up from a 4 year coma to find that his high school sweetheart is now a Playboy centrefold. He and his friend embark on a road trip to the Playboy mansion and…hilarity ensues…

Um. Yeah. I wouldn’t see this if you paid me. Like something from the ‘American Pie’ bandwagon only ten years too late. NAY

No Responses to “Trailer Park”

Leave a Reply

